2017 SAAB Conference

The 2017 SAAB Annual Congress has come and gone after a precarious start.  The venue had to be changed from the UWC campus to the four star Lagoon Beach Hotel at the last minute. Most delegates didn’t mind the unexpected luxury although costs were considerably higher.  Next year the Annual Congress will be hosted by the Plant Science Department at the University of Pretoria.  Watch this space for more details

Big Thanks to UFS

The 42nd SAAB Congress hosted at the University of the Free State was attended by 215 delegates from all corners of South Africa. Five plenary lectures were given with special guest Jacques Vervoort from the Netherlands delivering a keynote paper on Chemical defence mechanisms in plants.  Prof William Bond was presented with the SAAB Gold Medal while Dr Rob Skelton won the Bronze.  Rabia Mathakutha cupped both the Best MSc oral presentation and the Best Young Scientist award for her paper on Understanding the role of functional traits in plant invasions in the sub-Antarctic islands. The best oral paper by a PhD went to Margaret Hulley; Honours award to Monja Berber and the Best Poster over all categories to Nelly Black. See PDF for details: First_Circular.pdf

Promoting Science & Protecting Biodiversity